Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes

Monday, August 20, 2012

As I begin to type my first blog post for Cupcake/Monday, banana cupcakes are on the cooling rack and whipped cream is chilling in the fridge.  I let one of my students pick this week’s flavor from my Pinterest cupcake board.

I rarely make the exact recipe I find from a Pinterest link, rather I use them for inspiration and Google the flavor until I find a recipe I like.  Sometimes it is based on ease of recipe or ingredients.  Sometimes I want a challenge and sometimes I want a shortcut.  Sometimes, I just don’t have extra money to buy ingredients so it comes down to what’s in the cabinet.  And, sometimes, I want to try a new product or technique.

I’ve been shunning one cupcake product for a long time – Betty Crocker’s Fun-da-middles.  Something about them just seemed so lame.  I’m not opposed to shortcuts or mixes.  You’ll find many of my cupcakes take a semi-homemade approach and these are a great example.

When I found that the Banana Cream Pie cupcakes inspiration post used the product, I said “okay, why not just give it a try?”  The recipe called for adding banana extract to the batter and using a cream cheese frosting.  I wanted to change it up a little bit and make it my own.  Along with the banana extract, I added one mashed banana to the batter.

Instead of cream cheese frosting, I decided on fresh whipped cream.  I wanted a fresh banana element, but I was afraid they would brown if I used them as a garnish, so I topped the cupcake with a slice and covered it with the whipped cream.

Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes

  • 1 box Fun-da-middles yellow cupcake mix (plus eggs, oil and water)
  • 2 bananas, one mashed, one sliced
  • 1 1/2 tsp. banana extract
  • 16 oz. heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs. sugar
  • 30 vanilla wafers

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line cupcake tin with liners.  Put one vanilla wafer in each well.

Mix cupcake mix according to package directions. Add banana extract and 1 mashed banana.

Fill wells with 2 tbs. batter covering the vanilla wafer.  Add cream from cupcake mix to the center of each cupcake.  Cover the cream with more batter until the well is about 2/3 full.

Bake the cupcakes for 24-29 minutes.  (I baked mine for 25 mins.)

While baking make the whipped cream. Freeze your beaters and mixing bowl for 10-15 minutes, then add heavy cream to the bowl and beat until soft peaks form.  Add sugar and vanilla and beat just to combine.  Chill until cupcakes are cool enough to frost.

Before frosting, I placed a fresh banana slice on top of each cake, then piped on the whipped cream. To garnish, I added crushed vanilla wafers and 1 whole vanilla wafer each.

The Results…

This was delicious. Plain and simple.  It had great banana flavor and the whipped cream was the perfect topping. While it kept the whole thing from being too sweet,  the cream in the middle gave it a shot of sweetness without going overboard.  After taking a bite with every single component, I really tasted banana cream pie!  The cookie on top gave it crunch and texture and the cookie on the bottom gave it that authentic flavor.

Phew! The first cupcake for the blog was definitely a success.

2 Responses to “Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes”

  1. I recently cannot disappear completely your web site in advance of indicating we really relished the normal details someone offer in your readers? Will be again continually to inspect completely new discussions

Trackbacks

Let's talk cupcakes!

